I do believe in spooks

Posted: February 2, 2012 by ericrasberry in Uncategorized

It is amazing to me how fear can make us rationalize ourselves out of doing even the simplest of things.  For example, how hard is it to walk through a house?  Not hard at all, you just put one foot in front of the other and walk.  But what if it is a haunted house; it’s dark and creepy and you don’t know what you’re going to see.  I have volunteered for a haunted house in my home town for years, it’s called Scaremare, and we called it a “death house”.  I cannot tell you how many people were waiting in line to walk through a house and got so freaked out and scared by what they MIGHT experience they walked away completely. 

In a way I can understand that sort of fear.  It’s a fear that you can see.  You can hear the people screaming that are walking through the house, you can hear the creepy music, you can see the boarded up windows of the house and the person in the grim reaper costume at the front of the line letting others start their journey through the house, you can smell the gas from the chainsaws and feel the chill in the air.  You have a pretty good idea of what to expect but you don’t know what you will encounter. 

The fear that I wanted to focus on is the fear that comes when we are faced with the choice of either being obedient to what God has called you to do or getting spooked and talking yourself out of it.  I know lots of people who know 100% what God as called them to do but when it comes time to actually do it they put if off with the excuse, “ well I’m not ready yet, I just need more time for God to teach me, but I’m definitely gonna do it at some point”.  There are other rationalizations people use but it all comes down to fear, they are freaked out about stepping out on that limb and being obedient to Christ.  People are fearful for tons of reason, “I’m not smart enough”, or “I need more experience”, or “I’m not good looking enough”, or “what if I freeze in the middle of my talk”, or “what if drop something and when I bend over to pick it up I fart”.  When we are spooked we will use anything as an excuse to fade back into the crowd and stay safe. 

II Timothy 1 reminds us that God did not give us the spirit of fear.  If we experience fear we should channel that emotion and remember that we cannot do what God called us to do without the Holy Spirit moving.  That emotion we have pulsing through us that might stop us in our tracks can be used to humble us, which will help us as we die to ourselves and remember that it is God’s truth, God’s strength, and God’s promise.  Isaiah 55 tells us that His word will not return void, it will accomplish what He wants it to accomplish. 

Scripture reminds us that God has already won the victory, He defeated sin, death and the grave; all we have to do now is be obedient, Jesus already whooped up on the scary things for us.  When we pursue Christ and love Him with our whole heart, soul, mind and strength amazing things will happen.  They may still be scary but use that fear to reinforce your reliance on God.

Has there been a time in your life where you backed away from being obedient to what God called you to do?  How did you feel afterward? 

I challenge you to be bold and courageous for your God, remember that if He called you to do something He will be glorified in your obedience. 

Grace and Peace.

Comments
  1. Wonderful work! This is the kind of info that should be shared across the internet. Disgrace on Google for now not positioning this submit higher! Come on over and consult with my web site . Thank you =)

Leave a Reply

