DO NOT WORRY! GOD IS FAITHFUL

Posted: May 8, 2012 by liftyourvoice1 in Uncategorized

As a seminary student funds tend to be on the short side for me. Especially lately as I have been unemployed.   I have been fervently praying that God would provide the funds for me to take care of myself until I get my first paycheck from my new job. You see, I do this because I know from experience that God will not let me down. God has provided for all of my needs, and many times a lot of my wants as well. From experience I have been praying, but despite my experience I still was stressed that I would not be able to eat or take care of myself properly. I was almost down to under $100 in my account once I paid rent, and that $100 had to last me until the end of May. That’s scary. But, despite my doubt, despite my unfaithfulness God has once again come through. This morning I found that my tax return had come in. God provided for me, and so I felt it necessary to share this with you.

So many times we are unfaithful and forget that God will provide for us. Matthew 6:25-34 says:

Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what     you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and     the body more than clothing? 26 Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor     gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value     than they? 27 And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life?     28 And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they     grow: they neither toil nor spin, 29 yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not     arrayed like one of these. 30 But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is     alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of     little faith? 31 Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we     drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your     heavenly Father knows that you need them all. 33 But seek first the kingdom of God and     his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.
34 “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself.     Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

This passage Jesus is speaking to His disciples. He is reminding them how God is faithful to them. We also have to remember God values us and will remain faithful to us. He hears our prayers and knows our needs and wants. I have personally found that God takes care of His children. Growing up as a pastor’s son we never had much. There were many times that money was tight and yet God gave us more than we needed. Why then do we often doubt His faithfulness and provision? I hold fast to Jesus pointing out how God takes care of His creation, yet we are more valuable than just any creation. We must be seeking first the kingdom of God. I know this is a short post, but the events of today and God’s provision for me reminded me of His faithfulness to me when I am unfaithful to Him. That is what I find most amazing. Despite my sin, my unfaithfulness Christ still provides for me. Despite the ways I fail He still takes care of me. It’s because of that love that I hold fast to the knowledge that I will have my every need provided for. It’s because of that provision that I know I am of value. It’s because of this that I know that I matter and God cares; and it’s because of that, that I can tell you, YOU MATTER AND GOD CARES.

Blessings and Peace,
Brandon AKA B-Wit

Comments
  1. larkinleeanne says:

    This is really good. Thanks for sharing! I do the same thing. I tend to forget, like the Israelites, the history of the ways God has provided for me, and pray frantically without much faith for Him to come through. He comes through anyways. Why should I be surprised? He loves His children. The sad thing is, when He does come through, I sometimes forget to acknowledge Him and count is as a stroke of good luck. But, everything good comes down “from the Father of heavenly lights.”

Leave a Reply

