The Power of a Princess

Posted: May 17, 2012 by liftyourvoice1 in Godly Womanhood

Genesis 2:18, 22-24 Then the LORD God said, “It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him a helper fit for him.” … And the rib that the LORD God had taken from the man he made into a woman and brought her to the man. Then the man said, “This at last is bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called Woman, because she was taken out of Man.” Therefore a man shall leave his father and his mother and hold fast to his wife, and they shall become one flesh.

This weeks topic has been a tough one for me to discuss. Being a man I know very little about being a woman. It is just my nature not to know as a man. But, one thing I do understand is the affect or power a woman has over a man. You ladies have a power over men that many of you do not realize. There are so many ways that a woman can affect and or have power over a man. Now I’m not saying she is leading a man, I don’t want you to hear me wrong. But there are aspects about a woman that greatly affect a man. I thought it best, that as a man I should share some of these with my sisters in Christ.

As I discussed last week a Godly man is a warrior. As warriors sometimes we like to think that we are impenetrable. The truth of the matter is we are weak from time to time and we do sustain wounds. These wounds can come from anywhere and they weaken the warrior. Now, a true man of God will look to God as his main source of strength and healer of these wounds. But, one way a woman has an effect or power over man is in the way she can impart strength and healing to him by just being there and saying kind words to him. Ladies, a man wants to defend you, he wants to fight for you (if he truly is a man that is, if he’s a little boy leave him be), but sometimes men want to be fought for as well. Sometimes men need that extra push from a woman.


The warrior must be able to slay a dragon under his own strength(with God’s help) but with a woman there a man feels extra strength. For a man hearing kind words of encouragement, or that she’s proud of him means so much. When a man hears that from a woman he cares about (be it a girlfriend,wife, mother etc) he feels as though he can conquer anything.

I cite my own parents as an example. My mother is truly a godly woman and a strong one at that. My father is a pastor and the church being full of fallen men and women has a tendency to over look and abuse my father’s love, leadership, and care for them. Often times they will say things that will tear him down and beat him up. Dad sometimes likes to put on that he is impervious, but it hurts him. I have seen my mom see this and seen how she will pull my Dad aside when he feels weak and encourage him. The strength he gains from this is amazing. I have seen Mom help hold my father up through many a hard time. They do it for each other, but the power and affect my mother has over my father is clear. Dad values her opinion and her encouragement.

This is a powerful aspect of woman hood. It is part of why God made her. Man is to lead and be a warrior, but he needs that help sometimes. He needs that encouragement, sometimes that extra push from a woman that he loves. This is part of being the helper. A warrior needs a princess to fight for, but also a princess that will fight for him in turn. One who will be there to help give him extra strength when he needs it.

On the flip side of this coin, is the effect a woman can have negatively on a man. When a women compliments a man or encourages him he feels amazing, but when she tears him down (especially if it’s a woman he cares about) it can be one of the deepest wounds ever. I know this from personal experience, but will not get into that today. A woman can be the weak spot in a man’s armor. Because he is looking for affirmation from her, if he does not get it he will feel weak, even if he is truly strong. While it is important for a woman to constructively criticize a man she must realize that what she says will affect that man, sometimes in ways she cannot anticipate.

Ladies, there are so many ways that you have power over a man. There is the positive affect from your kind words, treatment, and presence while we fight the battles of life. There is the negative affect from your not so kind words. There is the affect from your beauty and your modesty or lack of (Which I will not get into right now, a whole book could be written on that one). Each of you Ladies is a beautiful princess, a precious jewel. But, a sharp diamond can cut through steel if used properly. Ladies I wish to challenge you to seek to understand the affect you have on men. Part of being a Godly woman is using that power, that affect that you, and your beauty have on us, wisely. We men were created to lead and to be warriors, but you women were created to fight as well. You fight differently, but it is just as important because without you where would we men be. Remember God said: “It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him a helper fit for him.” Part of being that helper, part of being that woman of God you need to be is realizing and using wisely your power to affect men.

Comments
  1. Hopefully my musings as a man on this subject are adequate.

  2. mhorst87 says:

    Good stuff, B-Wit. Very good stuff.

  3. dochlyv says:

    Great job, brother. Good angle.

  4. galatians220life says:

    I’m glad you wrote on this, brother. Words every woman needs to hear.

    To all the ladies out there, I highly recommend you read For Women Only by Shaunti Feldhahn! It speaks a lot about this and other issues that every daughter of God needs to hear regarding how her actions and words can affect a man. It’s a short book, and in my opinion a must-read before any girl begins a relationship.

  5. larkinleeanne says:

    Excellent! 🙂

  6. Elisabeth says:

    Thank you so much!!! Thank you for that book recommendation too. Maybe one of these days, if the Lord permits, you should tackle those other subjects warrior. Modesty… the lack of it, and its effect etc.
    Woman

Leave a Reply

